In Jochberg mining was mentioned in 1447 for the first time in history. In 1830, 16 km of track and 2 km of shafts were laid out in a staggered section. At the flowering time, 134 t of copper ore were extracted over a length of 30 km. 160 workers found work here. Until 1874, the ore was also smelted in Jochberg. On July 31, 1926, the last layer was driven and the company stopped operation in the "copper plate".
In 1990, the "Schaubergwerk Kupferplatte" was built in the old "Erbenollen", a 500-m pit track.
Mining traditions are appreciated and lived here every day. Not only is the work done regularly in the tunnel, but the "mountain" trail is also closer to the entrance to the "Erbstollen". 10 stations explain the Jochberg copper mining from the Middle Ages up until today. Inside the tunnel the tours are becoming even more exciting and informative for visitors through new multilingual multimedia and audio technology. Grab a helmet and off you go - with the old pit railway, visitors can enter a tunnel length of 150 meters and find out interesting details about mining, tools and mountain knights.
Adults: EUR 10.00
Children: EUR 6.00
1 June until 30 September
Daily tours are available every hour from 10:00 am to 11:00 am and from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm.
Each tour lasts approximately 30 minutes.
"Kupferplatte" Copper Mine
Pass Thurn Bundesstraße B 161