The neo-classical Kurhaus, which was erected by Friedrich von Thiersch in 1907, is the historic landmark of Hessen’s capital Wiesbaden and a steeped in history event centre for national and international congresses, meetings, seminars, conferences, exhibitions, presentations as well as for cultural and promotional events of all kinds. The portico’s inscription “Aquis Mattiacis” means “dedicated to the springs of the Mattiaci”. The twelve magnificent halls and salons impress with their historic architecture and unique charm of the Belle Époque period. The heart of the building is the concert hall with seating capacity of 1,350. The foyer is an elaborately decorated entrance hall which can be used for prestigious receptions.
Since 1949 the casino of Wiesbaden is located in the former wine hall of the Kurhaus. The Casino Wiesbaden is one of Germany‘s oldest casinos. In 1771, the Dukes of Nassau granted the first gambling concession. The roulette balls have been rolling in Wiesbaden since 1782. Russian novelist Fyodor Dostoyevsky aptly described the pounding heart of people at the gaming tables in his novel „The Gambler“. The writer‘s descriptions were based on personal experience, after all, he lost his fortune while staying at a spa in Wiesbaden in 1865. The roulette wheel, at which Dostoyevsky feverishly waited to hear „faites vos jeux“ can still be seen today. In cooperation with the Kurhaus and the Kurhaus catering facilities, the casino also offers incentives to firms, e.g. „Club Roulette“, with a separate gaming table and croupier.
With 129 metres, it is the longest hall in Europe supported by pillars and today houses the casino’s slot machines. From the front of the Kurhaus there is a splendid view of the “Bowling Green“ with its two cascading fountains.Back